Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Language, Literature, and Film: Find Scholarly Articles & Primary Works

Core Databases for Language and Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA indexes journal articles, books and dissertations back to 1963. Far and away the most important database for language and literature studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text access to the archives of over 100 core literary journals including Hispania, Hispanic Review, and Revista de Critica Literaria Latinoamericana.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index(HAPI) This link opens in a new window
HAPI indexes 400+ Latin American Studies periodicals focusing on all aspects of contemporary Latin American culture, including the border regions shared by the U.S and Mexico. Latin American literature and poetry are extensively covered and can be investigated through the database's Thesaurus (or subject search), accessible from the Advanced Search page. Explore, for example, the thesaurus entry for Latin American Literature.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The LLBA abstracts and indexes the international periodical literature of linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Critical to the study of Spanish instruction and second language acquisition. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Dialnet
Dialnet is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals, books, and theses. A limited number of full-text sources are available.
Literature Resource Center (from Gale)
Find full-text literary criticisms as well as author biographies and bibliographies.

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Criticism provides access to a collection of literary criticism from classical to modern times and offers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes online editions of Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Other Databases with Spanish Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The Libraries most comprehensive journal database, ASP provides full-text access to literally thousands of scholarly journals including Bilingual Review, Criticas, and Luso-Brazilian Review.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Note: Follow these instructions to link Google Scholar with Temple's resources.
Google Scholar provides search for scholarly literature. It covers disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides article abstracts from journal literature on the history and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Provides the most comprehensive indexing of the scholarly periodical literature in history.
Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.

Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
SciELO is a bibliographic database and a digital library of open access journals in the sciences and social sciences, mainly from Latin America.

Primary Works

Latin American Women Writers contains prose, poetry, and drama by Latin American women dating from the 17th century to the present. Currently features 36 plays and over 47,000 pages of prose.

Latino Literature contains fiction, poetry, and plays representing the Chicano culture and Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. Includes some 19th century materials but the vast majority of works date from the Chicano Renaissance to current times. Texts are presented in their original language, English or Spanish.

Literature Online (LION) features thousands of complete texts of poetry, prose, and drama as well as literary criticisms, author bios, and guides to major literary works. Although most of the material is focused on the Anglo world the database does provide 34 volumes of poetry from 18 Caribbean / West Indian authors.

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro This link opens in a new window
Teatro Espanol offers dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain, including more than 800 plays written by Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto, and others.