Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Language, Literature, and Film: Find Newspapers

Core Resources for News from Latin America & the Iberian Peninsula

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Note: Go to 'Advanced Search' and then 'Select a specific content type' to choose subcategories.
NexisUni (formerly Lexis Nexis) offers full-text access to content from more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.

NACLA Report on the Americas
NACLA Report on the Americas is the oldest and most widely read progressive journal covering Latin America and its relationship with the United States. Published since 1967, the award-winning NACLA Report is a quarterly journal of in-depth reporting and analysis from the region, serving as a bridge between academic researchers and the public.

More Sources for News from Latin America

TULibraries provide direct online access to Spanish-language news sources from the Iberian Peninsula, Latin America, and the Caribbean, as well as thousands of newspaper articles in English translation.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
"CNDL provides access to digitized newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials from the Caribbean and Latin America. Includes significant content from Aruba, Bahamas, Brazil, Cuba, Haiti, Panama, and many Caribbean countries" (Center for Research Libraries, ICON).

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 12
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.

Google News Archive
Google News Archive provides free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Search capabilities are very limited.

Global Press Archive: El Caribe Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
El Caribe (“The Caribbean”) is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. This resource offers coverage from 1956 to present.

Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries [PDF]
A Union List compiled in 1968 in the Serial Division, Library of Congress, by Steven M. Charno.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922 (Part of World Newspaper Archive)
A component of Newsbank's World Newspaper Archive, as of this writing Latin American Newspapers includes over 150,000 pages of historical newspapers from Latin America. Click "i" for a sample listing of the titles available.
more...less...
As of this writing includes historical runs of the following Spanish-language newspapers: Nacion, Razon, Prensa (Argentina); Mercurio (Chile); Comercio (Peru); Mexican Herald, Excelsior (Mexico), and several other titles. Upon completion, this database will include approximately 35 fully searchable newspapers printed throughout Latin America in the 19th and 20th centuries. Made possible through a partnership between the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and the corporate vendor Readex.

Latin American Historical Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
This second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers dramatically expands the number of searchable titles available from this region. Providing issues from more than 250 additional titles, this online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including some countries and cities not represented in Latin American Newspapers, Series 1.

Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collections
Free digital access to 14 Portuguese-language newspapers published in California between 1885 and 1940 (University of Massachussets at Dartmouth)

Brazilian Newspaper Database: Open Access Resource

The recently-established open access Hemeroteca Digital Brasileira (HDB) has made the entire Biblioteca Nacional (National Library)’s periodical record, including their vast newspaper collections, available digitally. This is a tremendous resource for scholars studying Brazil.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu