Research Guides: Urban Dynamics (SOC 0861): Databases

Newspapers

Philadelphia Inquirer Recent (2010 - 3 months ago) New

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The Philadelphia Inquirer Recent (2010-Recent; 3-month embargo) features full-page, greyscale images that are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting.

Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers]

The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. When digitization is complete, the complete run will include 1829-2009.

Philadelphia Daily News

Full-text of the Philadelphia Daily News via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.

Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)

Full-text and full-image of the Philadelphia Tribune via Proquest Historical Newspapers

Databases

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
ArticleFirst provides articles from journals from 1990 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of ebooks, ebook chapters, and back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to current publication.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFile Premier contains full text for periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Project Muse provides access to full-text journals, ebooks, and ebook chapters from university presses. Temple does not have access to all available ebooks.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications.

SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Some of the titles included are Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, etc.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Econlit contains indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
YouTube tutorials
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology.

Subject Specialist

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu