Research Guides: United States Government Information: Data / Statistics

Government Search Engines

The following search engines and databases are particularly useful for searching Government Documents and information. Note: See also

IPUMS data remain available, and IPUMS remains committed to preserving and democratizing access to the world’s population data.

IPUMS This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Researchers can study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Includes national and international GIS data.

USA.gov
USA.Gov is the United States Government's official web portal.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
ResearchData.gov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies
Geo-spacial Data Gateway
Geospacial Data is a comprehensive and user friendly portal for geospatial information from federal agencies and a growing number of state, local, tribal and private agencies encompassing but not limited to the subject areas of cultural, cadastral, environmental, demographic, political, public health, geography and water resources.

Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov searches over 50 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific websites.

Archived Websites

These links can help you find older versions of websites or websites that no longer exist.

Data Rescue Efforts
Google doc. "These suggestions come from various sources, including IASSIST, RDAP, Data Curation Network, BlueSky, LinkedIn, and others. A librarian at a university is compiling it."
End of Term Web Archive
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. We are currently accepting URL nominations for the End of Term 2024 Web Archive.
CyberCemetary
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information.
The WayBack Machine
The WayBack Machine lets you browse through over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. T
Project on Government Oversight
Founded in 1981, the Project On Government Oversight (POGO) is a nonpartisan independent watchdog that champions good government reforms. POGO’s investigations into corruption, misconduct, and conflicts of interest achieve a more effective, accountable, open, and ethical federal government.

Temple University

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu