Skip to main content

United States Government Information

This U.S. government information guide is a starting point to connect those interested with agencies and institutions affiliated with publishing and providing support for shared information. It is not meant to be a comprehensive source of government infor

Criminal Justice

A law enforcement agency within the U.S. Department of Justice that enforces laws and regulations relating to alcohol and tobacco diversion, firearms, explosives, and arson.

Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminals, crime victims.

Computer crime and Intellectual Property Division of the Department Justice that deals with computer crime, intellectual property crime, cyber crime, economic espionage and cyber ethics. Links to documents, policy, cases, guidance, laws, press releases, speeches, testimony, letters, reports, and manuals.

The Homepage of the FBI. History, current issues, documents, data, counter terrorism efforts, crime lab information, background check data, training information and the 10 most wanted.

NIJ is a branch of the U.S. Department of Justice that specializes in the research, development, and evaluation of crime control and justice issues. The search site gives researchers the option of searching the National Institute of Justice database, publications from the Office of Justice Programs, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service or any combination of the above.

Terrorism Information Center

A collaboration between the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center, the U.S. Department of Justice, and the Bureau of Justice Statistics offers criminal justice data from more than 100 sources.

 

 

Military and Security

Links to current agency documents, history, reference material and jobs.

The Department of Homeland Security was organized to ameliorate America's vulnerability to terrorism and natural disasters.

"Disaster mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery planning"

The National Security Agency focuses on cryptologic and foreign signals intelligence information with the intention of protecting government information systems.

The official U.S. Air Force features current news, videos, photographs, Airman Magazine, career information,and an Air Force-wide search engine.

News, career information, publications, photographs, links to related sites and a search function.

A comprehensive collection of Navy related information including football news, a guide to various Navy ships, biographies of naval personnel, speeches and testimony before Congress from to the present.

Policy, Grants, Employment

Apply for financial aid online.

The Congressional Research Service provides nonpartisan public policy research and information to Members of Congress.

A description and link to a searchable database of most of the financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. 
 

An independent, nonpartisan social research organization that analyzes policies and evaluates social and political programs and issues facing America's cities.

 

Information and opinions from a non-governmental organization on policy issues and politics.
 

A commercial service that tracks a different public policy issue each week and provides links to relevant government, news, and research services. 
 

Non-profit institute that studies a wide range of public policy issues. Particularly useful for subject area and topic bibliographies.

From the Office of Personnel Management, access to current professional job listings and an online application form.

Science and Research

Note: Energy Citations Database and DOE Information Bridge have combined as SciTech Connect. Energy Citations Database Database of bibliographic citations from the Department of Energy's scientific and technical information. Available online from 1948 to the present. DOE Information Bridge Full text reports from the Department of Energy's research report literature. Available online from 1995 to the present.

Research and Development project summaries from the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the Small Business Administration, and the Department of Agriculture.

Accesses over 350,000 reports from government agencies such as the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, The Defense Technical Information Center, and NASA Langley Technical Reports.

Web portal for federal science information and the government agency research and development.

Get Help

Latanya N. Jenkins's picture
Latanya N. Jenkins
Have questions?
Need a research appointment?
Contact:
lnjenkin@temple.edu
Temple University Library
1900 North 13th Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215) 204-8244

Public Health

The Nation's principal health agency offers a comprehensive public health web portal featuring information about health research, safety and wellness, disasters and emergencies, a health reference collection, geriatric resources and data about specific populations. Policies, regualtions, grants, funding and resource locaters are also available.

The CDC's mission is to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats. Links to Journals, information, data and statistics gathered from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

The FDA regulates food, drugs, medical devices, biologics such as organ transplants, animal feed, radiation emmitting devices such as cell phones, and cosmetics. Reference sources include laws, regulations, product safety, and hearings about matters ranging from contact lens solution to nanotechnology.

The PHSCC is one of the seven Uniformed Services of the United States. Its purpose is to provide highly-trained and mobile health professionals who carry out programs to promote the health of the Nation, deliver health services to federal beneficiaries, and furnish health expertise in time of war or other national or international emergencies.

A health information referral service intended to match health care providers and consumers who have health questions with those organizations best able to provide answers. NHIC is a joint effort of The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, The Office of Public Health and Science, and the Department of Health and Human Services.

The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion's public health search engine for health care consumers.