United States Government Information

Full-text access to the Declaration of Independence, the United States Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.

Current and historical Federal Government documents that define the United States Government including the Articles of Confederation, The Declaration of Independence, Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789, The Emancipation Proclamation, The Federalist Papers, and The Gettysburg Address.

The official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government. Information on legislative, judicial, and executive branches, quasi-official agencies, and international organizations in which the United States participates.

The official sight offers schedules, legislation currently on the House floor, committee searches, voting records, and general information.

The official web site offers legislative histories and information on current legislation, committees, voting records, calendars, general information.

Detailed information on the creation and enactment of laws, as well as a glossary of terms used in the legislative process.

Congressional documents originate from congressional committees and cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations.

Congressional reports originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation.

The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873, and is still published today.

Current house floor proceedings and a history of current legislation.

The Journal is a record of the proceedings of each legislative day in the House.

Reports of congressional committees on topics related to the scope of their activities.

The Library of Congress's THOMAS Congressional Bills database offers full text of congressional bills from 1989 to the present, Summary and status from 1973 to the present.

Legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record. Searchable from 1983 to present.

The Statutes at Large is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Every law, public and private, enacted by the Congress is published in the Statutes at Large in chronological order. Each Law includes a brief legislative history. All treaties and international agreements approved by the Senate were published in the Statutes through 1947.

The United States Code is the organization by subject matter of the Laws of the United States. It is divided by subject into 50 titles. It is revised every 6 years to include new laws with annual supplements. The only laws included in the U. S. Statutes are those that are in effect as of the date of publication. All superseded laws are deleted.

Homepage of the United States Federal Courts. Provides background, rules & policies, statistics, and more.

The official website for the Supreme Court. Offers general information about the Court, Docket, Arguments, Briefs, Opinions, Orders and Case Handling Guides.

Official opinions of the Supreme Court from 2003 to the present.

The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.

The official homepage of the president of the United States.

From Whitehouse.gov.

The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John T. Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. These archives contain 100,712 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

Find presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, and executive orders.

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

OMB's function is to assist the President in overseeing the preparation of the federal budget and administer the budget in Executive Branch agencies.