Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's books, also known as juvenile literature, are located in the northernmost part of the 4th floor of Charles Library. As of November 2019, there are now 2 locations for children's books. One location is for books purchased using the Hirsch fund for children's literature, next to what is called the Hirsch room. All other books are located on the half-height shelves near the faculty and grad study lounge.
Please note that there are a select few items in Kardon (remote storage), namely outdated material. Special Collections, the Blockson Afro-American Collection, and Ambler Library also have juvenile literature. We are in the process of moving some juv poetry that ended up in the BookBot up to the 4th floor. The leisure collection on the 1st floor of Charles also has some YA books.
Databases and Journals about Children's Literature
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a database of citations to critical documents on folklore, language, linguistics, and literature, including articles from journals, monographs, collections & reference works.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly articles and issues related to children's literature.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books. This invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Reviews give an in-depth look at a selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of the format, as well as suggestions for curricular use.
The Lion and the Unicorn
The Lion and the Unicorn is a theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children.