Research Guides: Data Analysis: SOC 4002: Find Related Data & Literature

Bibliography of GSS data-related literature

The GSS Bibliography contains more than 25,000 articles, chapters, books, and presentations known to have used GSS data.

Search by entering keywords or subject terms. Filter by Type, Year and ISSP (cross-national survey module).

Type: Book, book section, conference paper, journal article, Misc, Reports, Thesis
Year: No date, in press, forthcoming,
ISSP: No or Yes.

Caution: The GSS Bibliography is not an exhaustive collection and the contents may not be frequently updated. The GSS Bibliography is a useful starting point and can provided good leads for additional research.

Because the GSS survey data is also deposited at ICPSR, also search for GSS data-related publications on the ICPSR website.

If you have written a report, article, chapter, thesis, dissertation, or book using GSS data, you can notify the GSS (gss@norc.org).

Finding Data Tools and Tips

Finding data tools

Library catalogs, research guides and databases

Library Search (catalog)
Library Search is the catalog to all library materials, including data available in print, CD-ROM, and online through subscribed databases. Try different methods: (1) add "statistics OR data" to your keywords; (2) in advanced search enter statistics or data as a subject or as form/genre; (3) use a Library of Congress Subject Heading as subject and add a word for topic and look for dataset filter; (4) add topic as title or keyword and filter by form/genre. For a state, select subject and enter a search string with the state name. For example: "Crime -- Pennsylvania-- Periodicals " or "criminal statistics -- Pennsylvania-- Periodicals"

Search for relevant Temple Library Research Guides or at LibGuides Community. Guides for a specific topic or issue or survey can also be searched using Google or other search engine and adding "Login to Libapps" OR "libguide" to the search term and optionally limiting site to .edu.
Use Temple Libraries' A to Z list of databases to search for data related databases.

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Data Citation Index searches over 380 data repositories worldwide and gives a description of the study or experiment, links to data and software and other studies citing the data.

Searching is by keywords. The subject descriptor appears to have a small number of biological and medical terms.

How to search on the Web of Science and save results and create alerts.

Training portal, training video library, and Data Citation Index video

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a collection of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

The first link is to the 2022 ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 2022 Online Edition.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to quantitative facts by market sector, encompassing agriculture, finance, and politics, and others. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. It contains charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
This database may have training data, such as the GSS data to be used with SPSS. There are handbooks to understand survey methodology and statistics.

Search engines

Google can be used to search by adding "statistics" "database" or "data set" or data to the search terms. Other useful search engine websites include:

USA.gov
Google Dataset Search
Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web as well as some subscription-based databases. It is similar to Web of Science Data Citation Index, but is not human indexed, has many duplicates, less refined search filters, and lacks studies citing the data,
Open Data - Open Government
Harvard Think Thank Search
Think Tank Search is a customized Google Search with over 1300 URLs of US and international websites. The sites included are institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.

Data Paper and Data Journals

"A data paper is a peer reviewed document describing a dataset, published in a peer reviewed journal." Global Biodiversity Information Facility

Where to find data papers and journals

Edinburgh University wiki page listing data journals
GBIF website. GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
The 2014 blog post by Katherine Akers lists data journals
Walters, William H.. 2020. “Data Journals: Incentivizing Data Access and Documentation Within the Scholarly Communication System”. Insights 33 (1): 18. DOI: http://doi.org/10.1629/uksg.510