When you're looking for credible information, your "go-to" place are the Library Databases. Databases are paid subscriptions that provide access to millions of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles, as well as other formats including eBooks, audio files and videos. Temple subscribes to a vast number of databases covering all subjects, which you can access for free!
To find Articles in library databases, you can do a general Library Search, which will look for your keywords in all library resources (millions of them!). Another option is to search a library databases directly. Sometimes searching a specific database can produce more targeted and relevant search results. Below are some recommended library databases for researching Body Image.
Good ones to start with -
Academic Search Complete:
Includes both scholarly and popular sources.
ProQuest Central includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports across all major subject areas.
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Rrovides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
* See the complete list of Databases from the library, covering all academic subjects
Search ALL library database content concurrently:
HINT - On the results screen, limit your search results to "peer reviewed" (scholarly), by resource type (i.e. magazine, newspaper, or journal article), or by date of publication.
Sometimes your instructor will require that you find a scholarly journal article. What is this and how do you know if you've found one?
Scholarly sources are research articles published in scholarly journals. These articles report on original research conducted by researchers, who are sharing their research with other experts. This is how researchers in academic fields share their findings to one another, and how they build knowledge based on previous research.
To determine if a journal is considered scholarly, look for whether:
Research articles published in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, or refereed. Peer-review is a rigorous process where articles are evaluated by a panel of experts in the field -- essentially the author’s peers. To ensure that the article meets the highest standards for academic research, the peer-reviewers make sure that:
Search Temple’s databases from Google Scholar, instead of from the library web site, to find freely available scholarly articles available via the Temple University library and the internet. Just follow these Google Scholar Set-up Instructions, then enter your key words in the Google Scholar search box.
Temple University Japan Campus Library 1-14-29 Taishido, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan 154-0004
Tel: 03-5441-9867 Fax: 03-5441-9811 Email: email@example.com Web: https://www.tuj.ac.jp/library