Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Music Online!
Alexander Street Press:
Cross-search audio, video, scores, and full-text reference.
Online Sound Recordings
Note: Listening to music online via streaming audio from these services is free for Temple affiliated library patrons. Temple users will be asked for a username and password if off-campus, just enter your Accessnet username and password, the same that is used for your Temple email and Blackboard. Even though the streaming audio services are free to Temple patrons, there is a fee if you wish to download music.
American Song This link opens in a new window
Contains over 50,000 songs in every style, period, and genre. Includes Blues, Tin Pan Alley, Cajun, Cowboy, Ragtime, African-American songs, Bluegrass, sacred, and choral music. Can browse by historical events such as D-Day, the Cuban Missile Crisis, or the first moon landing. Includes presidential campaign songs from 1789-1996.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library contains online listenable classical recordings. This is a collection of music from Medieval to contemporary.
Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Contemporary world music contains sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres and a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
DRAM contains a collection of sound recordings documenting American music . Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Jazz Music Library is an online collection of streaming jazz, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Music Online This link opens in a new window
Music Online combines all of Temple's Alexander Street Press music resources: streaming audio, video, scores, and reference material. This includes the following resources: African American Music, African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 10
Naxos Music Library has audio tracks from the complete Naxos Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues. Genres include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese. Biographical information on composers and artists, and album liner notes are also included.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label as well as many other archival audio collections from around the world.