Pennsylvania's trial courts are the Courts of Common Pleas (CCPs), which are divided into 60 judicial districts. CCPs hear major civil and criminal cases. as well as appeals from minor courts.
In most cases, the judicial district has the same boundaries as the county in which it is located, but sometimes two counties with smaller populations are combined into a single judicial district. Judicial districts are numbered, but most people refer to them by the county name rather than the number.
No central location for online CCP civil dockets exists. Many courts maintain their own online dockets, and some of these dockets in turn link to case documents (such as filings and orders); other courts do not provide any case documents online. Some counties do not have their civil dockets available online to the public at all. Several counties use the INFOCON subscriber service ($25.00 set up fee; $1.10/minute access rate; $25.00/month minimum fee) to provide online access. Bloomberg Law (a subscription database; rates vary) also has some county civil dockets and documents.
The CCP civil court dockets and documents are overseen by prothonotaries. Each Pennsylvania county has a prothonotary, which is an elected civil clerk. The Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System lists the county prothonotaries here. The county prothonotary's office is the best place to contact for additional information on how to obtain CCP civil dockets and case documents.
For county criminal dockets, see the Pennsylvania Courts of Common Pleas - Criminal Dockets tab.
The Adams County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here. Searches require knowing the case's ID number.
Coverage: Online civil and family court dockets extend back to 2002.
Document availability: Yes; access is free.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2014 to the present, with select coverage back to 2002.
The Berks County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online dockets extend back to 1994.
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: Civil and family court dockets available from 2008 to the present, with select coverage extending back to the early 2000s.
The Bradford County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the mid-1980s, with select earlier cases.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents starting in the 1990s, with additional earlier legacy documents available; there is a $0.25/page fee for retrieving documents, which can be paid a la carte.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Bucks County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the 1950s.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents starting in the mid-2000s; there is a $0.10/page fee for retrieving documents, which can be paid a la carte.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2019 to the present, with select coverage extending back to the 1980s.
The Cameron County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Carbon County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available through the county's docket database. Database access is via subscription for $300.00/year. Information on registering for an account is available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1984.
Document availability: The online civil dockets link to case documents starting in 2000.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Centre County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are not available online for free. Centre County's civil dockets are available via the WEBIA subscription database; information on WEBIA access and pricing is available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the 1960s. Dockets from 1993 forward are searchable; older dockets were written in books that were scanned into WEBIA and only can be browsed, not searched.
Document availability: Yes
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2013 to the present.
The Chester County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here. Access is free at public libraries in the Chester County Library Systems; otherwise, a ChescoPIN subscription is required to view the dockets. ChescoPIN has a $50.00 one-time application fee and charges $10/month (for up to 100 transactions) and $0.10/transaction above the 100 transactions. Subscribers are charged only for months in which they have activity.
Coverage: Information not available
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: Archived civil dockets available from 2013 to 2016.
The Clearfield County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil and family dockets extend back to the early 2000s, with select earlier cases.
Document availability: Yes, starting in late 2021.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Columbia County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: Columbia County Court of Common Pleas civil opinions from 2000 forward are available here.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Crawford County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1999, with information on older cases that were active in about 2000 or after.
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Cumberland County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1994. Family law cases after June 21, 2010 are excluded from the online dockets.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents starting in 2015; there is a $0.08/page fee for retrieving documents, which can be paid a la carte.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas provides civil and family court disposition information here. Historical information is available here.
Coverage: Information extends back to November 1, 2001, with limited information available on suits filed earlier.
Document availability: Yes, starting in late 2022.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2008 to 2022, with select coverage back to the late-1980s.
The Delaware County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here. If you know a party name but not the case number, search for the case using Party Search, then enter the case number found there in the Docket Entry Search.
Coverage: Online civil and family entries extend back to 1986, but docket information prior to 2010 is minimal.
Document availability: Yes, starting around 2013.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2008 to the present, with select coverage extending back to the 1980s.
The Elk County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Most online civil docket types extend back to 1998. Divorce dockets extend back to the 1960s.
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Greene County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1996.
Document availability: The civil dockets sometimes link to case documents, starting around 2005; access is free.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Indiana County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available through the county's docket database. Database access is via subscription for $25.00/month, with a minimum subscription length of three months. Information on registering for an account is available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the mid-1980s.
Document availability: Yes
Bloomberg Law: No
The Juniata County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Lackawanna County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1995.
Document availability: Documents are available for free starting in the early 2000s, but pop-ups for lpa-homes.org must be enabled.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2008 to the present.
The Lancaster County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the late 1980s.
Document availability: The civil dockets sometimes link to case documents, depending on case type and date; access is free.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2006 to the present, with select coverage prior to 2006.
The Lebanon County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are available for free here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1985, with a few select earlier dockets available.
Document availability: The dockets link to documents, which are available for free.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here through the county's Odyssey Public Access system. Attorneys who are members of the Pennsylvania Bar Association may register and access the dockets for free. Others can pay for a subscription to Online Records Access, which includes the dockets; a yearly subscription costs $300/year. Further information on registering for an account is available here.
Coverage: Varies; call the Prothonotary's office to see if a particular case is in the system.
Document availability: The dockets link to documents, which are available at no additional fee. Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas opinions from 2017 forward are available here.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Luzerne County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here (click on the "Search Records as Guest" button).
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the 1980s.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents; there is a $0.35/page fee for retrieving documents, which can be paid a la carte.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2008 to the present.
The Lycoming County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil and family dockets extend back to 2013.
Document availability: Yes, starting in late 2022.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil and family court dockets extend back to 1980s, with some limited dockets from the 1970s.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents starting in the late 1990s; to retrieve documents, there is a fee of $0.50 fee for the first page and $0.10/additional page, which can be paid a la carte. Family court documents are not available.
Bloomberg Law: Civil and family court dockets available from 1988 to the present, with select coverage back to the mid-1980s.
Northampton County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the mid-1980s.
Document availability: The civil dockets do not appear to link to documents. Northampton County court opinions (excluding opinions sealed for confidentiality or for which no statement of reasons were issued) from October 1, 2008 forward are available here.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Northumberland County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Perry County Court of Common Pleas court dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: A summary of Perry County civil judgments from 1990 to the present is available through the "Civil Judgements" link here.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Philadelphia County Court of Common Pleas Civil Section dockets are available here. Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Family Court Division dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1971.
Document availability: The civil dockets link to case documents starting in late 2008; there is a $0.25/page fee for retrieving documents, which can be paid a la carte.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2010 to the present. Information is limited to captions and select complaints.
The Schuylkill County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1989.
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Snyder County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are available here. A subscription is required, with a $20 initial fee and a $25/month cost.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 2002.
Document availability: Documents are available for an additional fee.
Bloomberg Law: No
The Sullivan County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
Tioga County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Union County Court of Common Pleas civil dockets are not available online.
Coverage: Not applicable
Document availability: No
Bloomberg Law: No
The Washington County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available online. Visitors who do not wish to pay for a subscription can search dockets from the search page here, but court documents are not available. Various subscription plans are available: information on access and fees is available here. For more information, see the Prothonotary's webpage on the C-Track Public Portal.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1984.
Document availability: With paid subscription, or for parties in the case.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2014 to the present, with select coverage extending back to the late 2000s.
The Westmoreland County Court of Common Pleas civil and family court dockets are available here (click on "Public Search" on top right-hand corner).
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to the 1980s; the older dockets have minimal information.
Document availability: Dockets obtained via the free public search option do not link to documents. Users may register for subscriptions to view documents; the cost is $50/month or $240/year.
Bloomberg Law: Civil dockets available from 2008 to the present, with a 1-2 week lag in posting new dockets. Information is limited to captions.
The York County Court of Common Pleas civil court dockets are available here.
Coverage: Online civil dockets extend back to 1986.
Document availability: The civil dockets sometimes link to case documents, depending on case type and date; access is free.
Bloomberg Law: No
Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu
