Research Guides: Religion in Philadelphia: REL 0876 / HIST 0876: Newspapers

Contemporary Philadelphia Newspapers

Philadelphia Daily News This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Philadelphia Daily News via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.
Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Philadelphia Inquirer via Proquest Newsstand from 1983 to present.

Philadelphia Tribune (1991 to present)
Philadelphia's largest African American newspaper.

Historical Philadelphia Newspapers

Language usage changes over time. Don't assume the words we use today were in common usage a century or more ago. Keywords should reflect words that contempories used to describe religions and ethnic groups.

Philadelphia Inquirer (1829-1922) This link opens in a new window
A vast record of Philadelphia history during a period when Philadelphia was known as the "workshop of the world".
Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers] This link opens in a new window
The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. When digitization is complete, the complete run will include 1829-2009.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image of the Philadelphia Tribune via Proquest Historical Newspapers

Newspaper Articles

US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites dating back to 1980. Some titles include: Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
"Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press."
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Historical Newspapers

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
"Accessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books from the 18th and 19th centuries." Includes important African American Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette, and historical county and genealogical information.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American newspapers between 1690 and 1922.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to newly added titles is guaranteed through May 2027
ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains many US and international newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including the New York Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, and Washington Post.