Research Guides: Ethnicity and the Immigrant Experience in the US: SOC / GUS 0835: Home

Welcome! Top Resources / Starting Points

This guide is a guide for your SOC / GUS 0835 course. Use the resources and information on this guide to help with research.

For more help, contact the subject librarian or Ask a Librarian!

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index is a database which contains searchable author abstracts covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text contains bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada It includes historical, social sciences and humanities journals.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Sage Knowledge provides full-text of major reference works published by
Sage Publications, including Sage Books, Sage Reference, CQ Press reference
resources, and Sage Navigator social sciences literature review tool.

Opposing Viewpoints: Immigration
Provides information on various social issues, including pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

The New Americans by Mary C. Waters (Editor); Reed Ueda (Editor); Helen B. Marrow (Associate Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-01-30
Twenty thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. These are followed by comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.
American Immigration: a Very Short Introduction by David A. Gerber
ISBN: 9780197542422
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
David A. Gerber captures the histories of dozens of American ethnic groups over more than two centuries and reveals how American life has been formed in significant ways by immigration.

Subject Specialist