Intellectual Property

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) (open access)
The United States Patent and Trademark Office's website offers a wealth of information, including:

• A link to the text of US trademark laws, regulations, and proposed rules;
• Trademark basics;
• Trademark examples;
• Application requirements and common problems in applications;
• Directions for and a link to the Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS), a search engine that allows access to the USPTO database of trademarks and pending trademark applications.

McCarthy on Trademarks & Unfair Competition, by J. Thomas McCarthy (Temple Law access, via Westlaw)
McCarthy is the leading treatise on United States trademark law.  Topics including registering and protecting trademarks, infringement, and unfair competition.  While it focuses on the United States, McCarthy has some coverage of international aspects.  Updated quarterly.

Callman on Unfair Competition, Trademarks & Monopolies, by Rudolf Callman, Louis Altman & Malla Pollack (Temple Law access, via Westlaw)
This treatise provides an extensive analysis of unfair competition and antitrust issues, as well as some aspects of trademark law and international laws.

Gilson on Trademarks, by Anne Gilson LaLonde(Temple Law access, via Lexis)
This treatise covers practical trademark and unfair competition law.

Trademark Registration Practice, by James E. Hawes & Amanda Vu Dwight (Temple Law access, via Westlaw)
This treatise focuses on practical trademark and unfair competition law.

Horwitz on World Trademark Law, by Ethan Horwitz (Temple Law access, via Lexis)
Horwitz describes trademark law in more than 100 jurisdictions; coverage depth varies by jurisdiction.

Trademark Practice Throughout the World, by May M. Squyers & Nanette Norton (Temple Law access, via Westlaw)
This treatise covers all phases of international trademark practice.  It is organized by topic, with particular attention to various international agreements.

International Trademark Association (INTA) (open access)
The INTA website provides fact sheets on trademark basics, hosts an international IP job bank, and provides links to its newsletters and blog.

The Cambridge Handbook of International and Comparative Trademark Law, eds. Irene Caboli & Jane C. Ginsburg (Temple University access, via Temple Libraries/Cambridge Core)
This recently-published text analyzes "international and regional frameworks, and provid[es] comparative perspectives on the substantive issues in trademark law and related fields, such as geographic indications, advertising law, and domain names."

Principles of Trademark Law, by Roger E. Schechter & John R. Thomas (Temple Law access, via West Academic Study Aids)
This "concise hornbook" covers trademark law.

Trademark and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell, by Mark D. Janis (Temple Law access, via West Academic Study Aids)
Nutshells are designed to be easy-to-read but in-depth reviews of the law in a particular area; this one covers trademark and unfair competition law.

Bloomberg Law Trademarks & Copyright (Temple Law access, via Bloomberg Law)
This practice center collects together Bloomberg Law's trademarks and copyright materials, including news and reports, case dockets and other court documents, practice tools, and trackers.

SSRN Trademark Law eJournal (open access)
This subject-matter ejournal collects journal publications, working papers, and pre-publication materials on trademark law.

The Trademark Blog, by Martin Schwimmer (open access)
Schwimmer highlights recent cases and hot topics in trademark.  The blog generally is updated every few days.