Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intellectual Property

Resources for researching copyright, trademark, patent, and trade secrets law.

General IP Materials

  • Milgrim on Licensing (Temple Law access, via Lexis)
    Milgram on Licensing contains an overview of patent, trademark, copyright, and trade secret law; covers trade regulation considerations (such as antitrust); and details prelicense and licensing steps.  Forms for various licenses and agreements are included.

  • PLI Plus (Temple Law access)
    This is the Practicing Law Institute’s online database for PLI treatises, course handbooks, answer books, and legal forms.  Materials generally are practitioner-focused and cover specialized topics.  Over 2,000 intellectual property resources are listed.

  • HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection (Temple Law access)
    Hein's IP collection includes books, legislative histories, most-cited law review articles, the Trademark and Patent Manuals of Examining Procedure, periodicals, federal agency decisions, and more.

  • Intellectual Property:  The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks, by Roger E. Schecter & John R. Thomas (Temple Law Library Reserves, KF2980.S44 2003)
    A hornbook covering major intellectual property law principles.  Unfortunately, it has not been updated since its 2003 publication because West focused more on its "Concise Hornbooks" series.

  • The Oxford Handbook of Intellectual Property Law, ed. Rochelle Dreyfuss & Justine Pila (Temple Law access)
    Published in 2018, this books strives to be "an accessible overview of one of the most rich, complex, and important fields of law today, including its social and normative foundations, its emergence and development in different jurisdictions and regions, its substantive rules and principles, and its political economy."