Research Guides: Program Planning, Theory, and Practice: SBS 5002: Measurement, Evaluation & Logic Models

Theory of Change and Logic Models

Community Toolbox
The Community Tool Box is a free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. There are resources for different frameworks and models.

Theory of Change

The Community Builder’s Approach to Theory of Change: A Practical Guide to Theory Development (The Aspen Institute’s Roundtable on Community Change).
Theories of Change and Logic Models: Telling Them Apart
Theory of Change: A Practical Tool for Action, Results and Learning (Annie E. Casey Foundation)
Logic Model and Theory of Change (Community Toolbox)
Global Family Research Project and Archives and Evaluation Exchange publications and resources for family, children and school programs.
- Theory of change
- Logic model and 7 other outcome models
Measuring Program Outcomes (United Way)

Logic Models and Evaluation Frameworks

Logic Models
LeCroy, C. (2021) Logic Models. In Encyclopedia of Social Work
University of Wisconsin’s Program Development and Evaluation
provides a comprehensive template for a logic model and elaborates on creating and developing logic models. Also has information on needs assessment, SMART goals, and SWOT analysis
The W.K. Kellogg Foundation Logic Model Development Guide
(updated 2004)

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control Evaluation Group provides links to a variety of logic model resources and assessment and evaluation tools.

American Evaluation Association
- E-library “logic model” search results
- Tara Gregory on Using Storytelling to Help Organizations Develop Logic Models discusses techniques to facilitate creative discussion while still attending to the elements in a traditional logic model.
Evaluation Guidebook for Projects Funded by S.T.O.P. Formula Grants under the Violence Against Women Act (Chapter 2 logic model)

Preceded Procede Planning and Evaluation Model
PRECEDE and PROCEED are acronyms. PRECEDE stands for Predisposing, Reinforcing, and Enabling Constructs in Educational/Environmental Diagnosis and Evaluation. It represents the process that precedes, or leads up to, an intervention.
PROCEED spells out Policy, Regulatory, and Organizational Constructs in Educational and Environmental Development, and it describes how to proceed with the intervention itself.
Strategic Testing: An innovative approach to monitoring highly flexible aid programs (Asia Foundation) PDF
Traditional monitoring methods are designed to track progress in linear, largely pre-planned projects where the result and the path to achieving it are known from the outset. Such methods are poorly suited to contexts where specific results emerge
over time in the course of implementation, and where there is a need to track shifts in program strategy and action. Strategic Testing is designed to fill this gap.

Measurement and Tests

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
HaPI is a bibliographic database produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, and is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 4
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides a guide to contemporary testing instruments and contains information for evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. User guides are available on the publisher site.

REDCap Shared Library
A repository for REDCap data collection instruments and forms that can be downloaded and used by researchers at REDCap partner institution. More information about getting REDCap access at Temple: via Temple University Hospitals (for researchers at the Health Sciences Campus), via the College of Public Health (for researchers on Main Campus)
more...less...
Find validated instruments.
Rand Health Survey and Tools
These surveys are public documents, available without charge, for non-commercial purposes. Provided by the Rand Corporation, a nonprofit institution that seeks to improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis.
more...less...
The surveys are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life. Many of these surveys are intended for the general population, but can be tailored to specific groups, such as the elderly, Medicaid recipients, veterans, and families with small children. They include surveys for Serious Illness, the SF-36, Patient Satisfaction, Homelessness, Vulnerable Elders, Mental Health Inventory, Social Support, and the Depression Screener.
Tests and Measurements (Temple Libraries Research Guide)
More sources and tips are on this library research guide. The guide is designed to offer a set of resources to assist in identifying and finding tests, measurements, assessments, rating scales on particular subjects as well as resources for further information on testing in general.

Essentials of Psychological Tele-Assessment by A. Jordan Wright; Susan Engi Raiford
ISBN: 9781119771906
Publication Date: 2020-12-31
A primer on the current state of professional knowledge related to psychological tele-assessment, ranging from the ethical and empirical considerations to the practical applications of tele-assessment procedures. This is within our Essentials of psychological assessment series.

View all Essentials of psychological assessment series in Library Search
To find other books on testing, within Library Search, add words such as "assessment," "instruments," "measurement," scale," or "testing" OR search for a Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter them in the subject field.

Examples: Ability--Testing; Behavioral assessment; Child development--Evaluation; and Learning ability--Testing;

The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by Neil J Salkind
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781506319957
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style. Through approximately 500 contributions, experts provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in these two areas.
The SAGE handbook of measurement
The book emphasizes issues such as indicator generation and modification, the nature and conceptual meaning of measurement error, and the day-to-day processes involved in developing and using measures. The Handbook covers the full range of disciplines where measurement studies are common: policy studies; education studies; health studies; and business studies.

Database of Psychological Tests, Instruments, Rating Scales, and Measures
A free to search database to find tests and instruments published within books, compiled by Mark Stover at California State University, Northridge.

Planning, Software Programs, and Tools

Sage Project Planner
This tool is designed to guide you through your research project.

Research Data Management
by Will Dean Last Updated Aug 14, 2024 1777 views this year

Qualtrics
Qualtrics is a powerful online survey tool that allows one to build and distribute surveys, as well conduct analysis and reporting on responses.
Using RedCap
REDCap is a useful, flexible, and secure online system for collecting and storing clinical data that is widely used throughout the world by researchers, particularly in the health sciences and other fields that deal with personal health information.
Microsoft 365 (formerly Office)
Applications include OneNote, Project, Visio, Excel, Word, and Forms. Faculty, staff, students have free access via TU university wide license. Some of these are available free online, but with more limited functions. Gantt charts can be made using Excel.

The Quality Toolbox by Nancy R. Tague
ISBN: 9780873896399
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Quality Toolbox gives quality practitioners a choice of a variety tools for dealing with the wide variety of situations that occur on the road to continuous improvement. It includes a variety of matrices and flowcharts, data collection and analysis tools, tools for planning, tools for analyzing processes and discovering root causes, and different forms of brainstorming and other tools for generating, organizing, and evaluating ideas. In short, the means to accomplish change. In updating this book, Tague has added 34 tools and 18 variations. the Quality Improvement Stories chapter has been expanded to include detailed case studies from three Baldrige Award winners. an entirely new chapter, Mega-Tools: Quality Management Systems, puts the tools into two contexts: the historical evolution of quality improvement and the quality management systems within which the tools are used.