Research Guides: All Health Sciences Databases: Home

Alphabetical List of All Health Sciences Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Access Medicine is an online medical resource that provides a variety of resources as access to videos, self-assessment, and medical textbooks.
AccessMedicine: Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
Case Files Collection offers the best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. This collection features: the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books; an interactive format; and personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Access Pharmacy is an online pharmacy resource that provides pharmacy references, publications, textbooks, and research on drugs and supplements.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Access Physiotherapy from McGraw-Hill features learning tools such as video demonstrations, image slides, online dissection, and quizzes. The complete contents of physical therapy textbooks and resources such as Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention; Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist; Therapeutic Modalities for Rehabilitation; Imaging in Rehabilitation; and others, are included.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Access Surgery is an online surgery resource that provides access to videos, self-assessment, and surgical textbooks.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy TV provide a multimedia overview of human anatomy. It features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and textual descriptions supplement the animations and models.
AORN eGuidelines+ This link opens in a new window
AORN eGuidelines+ is a descriptive and comprehensive guidelines collection that reflects evidence-based practices for the perioperative RN in a range of topics that support both patient and worker safety.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts contains journals from various countries focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination provides clinical skills videos, systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides video and text covering clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
BMJ Case Reports This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple University has created an institutional membership with BMJ Case Reports so that our researchers can submit new cases to the journal free of charge. For more information and to request Temple's Fellowship Code please email hscref@temple.edu.
BMJ Case Reports is a peer-reviewed collection of case articles and reports from many countries in all disciplines that healthcare professionals, researchers, and others can use to easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions.
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
Note: Users must first register for a Board Vitals account using their @temple.edu email account.
Board Vitals is an exam review tool, and includes content for: PANCE, USMLE Step 1 and 2, Shelf Exams for seven medical specialties, APMLE Part I and II, NAPLEX, NCLEX RN, AANP and ANCC Family NP Board Exams and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP Board Exam.
BrowZine for iPad This link opens in a new window
BrowZine for Android
Note: Use the correct link to download this app to your tablet. Then select Temple University from the 'Choose Library' menu, and log in with your AccessNet ID.
BrowZine contains articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, and then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. This is a way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
BrowZine Web This link opens in a new window
BrowZine contains articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, and then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. This is a way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
CardioSource Plus for Institutions This link opens in a new window
Note: ACC Cardiosource subscription must be accessed through a link on the OVID databases platform. Go to Links --> ACC Cardiosource Plus, then log in with your ACC user account.
Cardio Source Plus provides access to ACC’s online educational resources, including: board prep activities in general cardiology, interventional cardiology, echocardiography, and nuclear cardiology; self-assessment questions; points toward Part II of the ABIM’s MOC program; hours of CME credit; a library of heart murmurs (Heart Songs); yearly highlights from ACC’s annual scientific session.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.
Community Health Database (CHDB) Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Philadelphia Health Management Corporation’s (PHMC) CHDB Data Portal allows users to download CHDB data sets, codebooks, and survey instruments. Temple has access to Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey data files from 1998-2018/2019. Specifically 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2015, and 2018/2019 and the demographic product files. Files are available in SPSS (.sav).
Community Health Database (CHDB) Tool This link opens in a new window
The PHMC CHDB Tool allows users to do queries of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey by geographic region (county, ZIP code), key health indicators, and demographic characteristics (race/ethnicity, age, gender, health insurance status, poverty status).
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Coronavirus Research Database includes coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, and curates openly available content related to coronaviruses.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Note: As of July 2023, CQ Researcher has an updated platform and URL. Please update bookmarks accordingly.
Concurrent user limit: 20
CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
DailyMed This link opens in a new window
The DailyMed database contains labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Data Citation Index provides access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the context of the scholarly research.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) This link opens in a new window
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers full-text journals, and indexing and abstracting for journals, books, monographs, magazines and trade periodicals. Subjects include: cosmetic dentistry, anesthesiology, public health, endodontics, forensic odontology, geriatric dentistry, oral and maxillofacial disciplines, orthodontics and dentofacial orthopaedics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, and prosthodontics.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Dyna Med provides access to evidence-based medical information, and includes topics of: diseases, disorders, symptoms, etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
ECRI conducts independent medical device evaluations, and is designated an Evidence-based Practice Center by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and a federally certified Patient Safety Organization by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides a full-text collection of education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks. It covers all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education.
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Sciences Collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] This link opens in a new window
ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection also includes full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General One File is a source for news, magazines, and periodical articles across a wide range of general topics and academic disciplines.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
HaPI is a bibliographic database produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, and is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Health and Safety Science Abstracts Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. It also includes government reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and books to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations.
Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
Health Poll Database offers health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
HealthSTAR This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 30
HealthSTAR contains bibliographic records from MEDLINE (1975 to present) and CATLINE (1985 to present), and records from three sources: the American Hospital Association, the National Health Planning Information Center and NLM's National Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).
HSTalks This link opens in a new window
HS Talks (formerly Henry Stewart Talks) provides online seminars audio-visual presentations. It covers a range of topics in biomedicine and life sciences.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Note: Patrons can use the 'Access through your institution' option or create an ICPSR account using your Temple email to access this resource from off-campus. Please clear your browser history and cookies if you see an error message.
ICPSR provides access to an international archive of digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to budget constraints, IPA will no longer be available after Nov 30, 2024.
Concurrent user limit: 4
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) covers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information so researchers, toxicologists, cosmetic companies, medical librarians and health practitioners can easily locate the answers to any drug-related problems that they encounter.
IPUMS This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Researchers can study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Includes national and international GIS data.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is a resource on information for point-of-care drug and clinical information.
UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry (formerly Lexicomp) provides dentistry drug Information. It includes content, images, treatment recommendations, and links to drug.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA provides access to abstracts and indexes for international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage begins in 1973.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda) provides unlimited access to an online library of high-quality instructional videos on the latest software tools and skills. Courtesy of Temple University Computer Services.
LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Premium Basic Sciences Collection offers access to textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.
Key titles include: Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Grant's Dissector, Histology: A Text and Atlas (6e), Histology: A Text and Atlas with Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews series.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) This link opens in a new window
MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.
Medline [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities.
MedOne-Neurosurgery This link opens in a new window
Thieme Med One Neurosurgery offers eBooks covering surgical procedures and residency board Q&A.
MedOne-PlasticSurgery This link opens in a new window
Thieme Med One Plastic Surgery offers eBooks and videos covering surgical procedures and residency board Q&A.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics provides current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
NatMed (formerly Natural Medicines) provides evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users can search by keyword, title, creator, subject or resource type. OAIster is a union catalog of digital records built by harvesting records using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Note: As of 7/1/2024 OECD is a publicly-available resource.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) provides access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers on subjects such as: Agriculture and Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
PEDRo This link opens in a new window
PEDro is a free database of over 53,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policy Map is a web-based Geographic Information System that provides a simple mechanism for visualizing data. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports and also may be downloaded.
Some PolicyMap datasets are from free government sources (including U.S. Census data), while other datasets are from proprietary sources, including detailed home sales statistics, school district performance from GreatSchools, locations of grocery stores and non-profit organizations, and Nielsen estimates and projections for demographic indicators.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection contains international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online includes access to the full-text of the DSM-V (DSM-5) as well as several journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the American Journal of Psychiatry.
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
PTSDpubs is an interdisciplinary bibliographical database and includes citations to literature on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) from 1871-present. The database includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and government documents.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Public Health offers core literature for the study of public health, including biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, and behavioral sciences.
Public Health in Modern America (1890-1970) This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Public Health in Modern America examines the history of public health and the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state, and local levels during pivotal times in history.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple users must access the Roper platform by creating an iPoll account using their @temple.edu email. Go to Log In --> select Your Affiliation (Temple University) --> Register or Sign In to Roper iPoll account.
Roper iPoll is provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University and offers public opinion poll data from 1935 to the present. iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. It contains charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online provides content across the social and behavioral sciences. Covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods and includes the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Elsevier's Science Direct provides full-text ebook and journal content for scientific, technical, social science, and medical disciplines.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder N is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, and provides access to information on substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.
search.bioPreprint This link opens in a new window
search.bioPreprint searches across several preprint databases to discover yet-to-be published or reviewed biomedical research articles. This is a free resource provided by the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 10
Simply Analytics is a web-based mapping application that permits users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing variables. Maps can be exported as high-resolution images; data can be selected, sorted, and compared to build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides access to demographic information and interactive data maps about the United States.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics contains data dealing with all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 8
SPORT Discus is a full text international sports database which covers the fields of exercise, medicine, biomechanics, coaching and sports medicine.
SportRxiv This link opens in a new window
SportRxiv is an open access preprint repository dedicated to sport, exercise, performance, and health research. Please note that work in this repository is likely not peer-reviewed.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) provides citation information and abstracts to journal articles about physical education and related disciplines (sports, sports medicine, dance, coaching, fitness, motor learning, etc.)
SpringerNature Experiments (including Springer Protocols) This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple University does not have access to Nature Reviews Methods Primers.
Springer Nature Experiments contains procedural methods in the design and implementation of experiments, including the safety, bias, procedures, equipment, statistical methods, reporting, and troubleshooting standards.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 1-20, depending on title. Most titles allow for two concurrent users.
STAT!Ref online is a resource that integrates core health sciences books (textbooks, handbooks, drug books, etc.) from leading publishers. It enables you to cross search medical textbooks and resources: also gives access to the full-text of these books through the table of contents.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a collection of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
STS Cardiothoracic Surgery eBook This link opens in a new window
Note: For Temple access to the Android or iOS STS app, users must first register for an Unbound Medicine account.
STS Cardiothoracic Surgery E-Book offers point-of-care reference and is authored and edited by leading surgeons from around the world. Hundreds of interactive chapters provide a multimedia experience with hand-drawn medical illustrations, photographs, and surgical videos.
TRIP Pro Database This link opens in a new window
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a free medical database providing access to high quality clinical research evidence. TRIP Pro is the enhanced version containing over 100,000 systematic reviews, medical images and videos, millions of full-text articles, and advanced searching.
Washington Post Full-Text (1997-present) [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Washington Post Full-Text contains text-only coverage from 1997-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu

All Health Sciences Databases

Introduction

Alphabetical List of All Health Sciences Databases

Temple University

University Libraries