Research Guides: All Health Sciences Databases: Public Health

Public Health databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text scholarly publications and full text journals for academic areas of study.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text ejournal collection from the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts contains journals from various countries focusing on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.
Community Health Database (CHDB) Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Philadelphia Health Management Corporation’s (PHMC) CHDB Data Portal allows users to download CHDB data sets, codebooks, and survey instruments. Temple has access to Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey data files from 1998-2018/2019. Specifically 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2015, and 2018/2019 and the demographic product files. Files are available in SPSS (.sav).
Community Health Database (CHDB) Tool This link opens in a new window
The PHMC CHDB Tool allows users to do queries of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey by geographic region (county, ZIP code), key health indicators, and demographic characteristics (race/ethnicity, age, gender, health insurance status, poverty status).
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Coronavirus Research Database includes coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, and curates openly available content related to coronaviruses.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Note: As of July 2023, CQ Researcher has an updated platform and URL. Please update bookmarks accordingly.
Concurrent user limit: 20
CQ Researcher provides reports written by journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Note: As of 6/28/24, Sage Data is down. Service updates can be found on the Sage status website.
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. It contains charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Data Citation Index provides access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the context of the scholarly research.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
ECRI conducts independent medical device evaluations, and is designated an Evidence-based Practice Center by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and a federally certified Patient Safety Organization by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Embase This link opens in a new window
EMBASE contains references to journal articles in biomedicine. The references consist of authors, title, journal data, abstract and keywords. EMBASE contains European literature, and coverage in the field of drug research, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. The database can be searched back to 1974.
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Sciences Collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 5
HaPI is a bibliographic database produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, and is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Health and Safety Science Abstracts Provides citations and abstracts to the literature on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. It also includes government reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and books to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations.
Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
Health Poll Database offers health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
HSTalks This link opens in a new window
HS Talks (formerly Henry Stewart Talks) provides online seminars audio-visual presentations. It covers a range of topics in biomedicine and life sciences.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Note: Patrons can use the 'Access through your institution' option or create an ICPSR account using your Temple email to access this resource from off-campus. Please clear your browser history and cookies if you see an error message.
ICPSR provides access to an international archive of digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.
IPUMS This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Researchers can study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Includes national and international GIS data.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) This link opens in a new window
MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
NatMed (formerly Natural Medicines) provides evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Note: As of 7/1/2024 OECD is a publicly-available resource.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) provides access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers on subjects such as: Agriculture and Food, Development, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Social Issues, Transport and more. The Statistics channel delivers access to the OECD's statistical databases allowing users real-time access to the latest data. (Updated daily)
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policy Map is a web-based Geographic Information System that provides a simple mechanism for visualizing data. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports and also may be downloaded.
Some PolicyMap datasets are from free government sources (including U.S. Census data), while other datasets are from proprietary sources, including detailed home sales statistics, school district performance from GreatSchools, locations of grocery stores and non-profit organizations, and Nielsen estimates and projections for demographic indicators.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online includes access to the full-text of the DSM-V (DSM-5) as well as several journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the American Journal of Psychiatry.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Public Health offers core literature for the study of public health, including biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, and behavioral sciences.
Public Health in Modern America (1890-1970) This link opens in a new window
Access guaranteed through May 2027
Public Health in Modern America examines the history of public health and the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state, and local levels during pivotal times in history.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple users must access the Roper platform by creating an iPoll account using their @temple.edu email. Go to Log In --> select Your Affiliation (Temple University) --> Register or Sign In to Roper iPoll account.
Roper iPoll is provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University and offers public opinion poll data from 1935 to the present. iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online provides content across the social and behavioral sciences. Covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods and includes the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 10
Simply Analytics is a web-based mapping application that permits users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing variables. Maps can be exported as high-resolution images; data can be selected, sorted, and compared to build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides access to demographic information and interactive data maps about the United States.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics contains data dealing with all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 1-20, depending on title. Most titles allow for two concurrent users.
STAT!Ref online is a resource that integrates core health sciences books (textbooks, handbooks, drug books, etc.) from leading publishers. It enables you to cross search medical textbooks and resources: also gives access to the full-text of these books through the table of contents.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a collection of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It also includes access to EndNote Online.

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu