Research Guides: All Health Sciences Databases: Nursing

Nursing databases

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Note: As of 1/6/25 Bates' Visual Guide has a new platform and URL. The old URL will not automatically redirect so please update any bookmarks accordingly.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination provides clinical skills videos, systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
BMJ Case Reports This link opens in a new window
Note: Temple University has created an institutional membership with BMJ Case Reports so that our researchers can submit new cases to the journal free of charge. For more information and to request Temple's Fellowship Code please email hscref@temple.edu.
BMJ Case Reports is a peer-reviewed collection of case articles and reports from many countries in all disciplines that healthcare professionals, researchers, and others can use to easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions.
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
Note: Users must first register for a Board Vitals account using their @temple.edu email account.
Board Vitals is an exam review tool, and includes content for: PANCE, USMLE Step 1 and 2, Shelf Exams for seven medical specialties, APMLE Part I and II, NAPLEX, NCLEX RN, AANP and ANCC Family NP Board Exams and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP Board Exam.
CardioSource Plus for Institutions This link opens in a new window
Note: ACC Cardiosource subscription must be accessed through a link on the OVID databases platform. Go to Links --> ACC Cardiosource Plus, then log in with your ACC user account.
Cardio Source Plus provides access to ACC’s online educational resources, including: board prep activities in general cardiology, interventional cardiology, echocardiography, and nuclear cardiology; self-assessment questions; points toward Part II of the ABIM’s MOC program; hours of CME credit; a library of heart murmurs (Heart Songs); yearly highlights from ACC’s annual scientific session.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Provides indexing for nursing and health journals. The database contains records dating back to 1972. In addition, the database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, and selected conference proceedings.
CINAHL Abstracting and Indexing Database
Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. CINAHL also includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,446 active global OA journals.  Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Subject Headings
CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
Content Includes
3,814 active indexed and abstracted journals
3,461 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals
1,312 journals with searchable cited references
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This collection also provides information about Cochrane groups.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Dyna Med provides access to evidence-based medical information, and includes topics of: diseases, disorders, symptoms, etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General One File is a source for news, magazines, and periodical articles across a wide range of general topics and academic disciplines.
HealthSTAR This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: 30
HealthSTAR contains bibliographic records from MEDLINE (1975 to present) and CATLINE (1985 to present), and records from three sources: the American Hospital Association, the National Health Planning Information Center and NLM's National Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).
LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Concurrent user limit: unlimited
Premium Basic Sciences Collection offers access to textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.
Key titles include: Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Grant's Dissector, Histology: A Text and Atlas (6e), Histology: A Text and Atlas with Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews series.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) This link opens in a new window
MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics provides current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users can search by keyword, title, creator, subject or resource type. OAIster is a union catalog of digital records built by harvesting records using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE (Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of journal citations; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world

Temple University

University Libraries

See all library locations

Need help? Email us at asktulibrary@temple.edu